Harry Potter Books in Order of Release Dates


I am a huge fan of Harry Potter books and I have been trying to read them in chronological order for some time now. This article will be valuable if you are a fan of the Harry Potter movies and still want to read the books.

It’s not a good idea to start reading the Harry books from the end to the beginning. One way of deciphering the plot is to follow the films’  release order.

Harry Potter books and movie series are read and watched by millions of people respectively.


 Harry Potter Books Arranged in Order of Release Dates or Publication

So far there have been eight Harry Potter books published already. The most recent, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, was published in 2016. Every one of the published books is fantastic in its own way, illustrating an intriguing plot.

From first to last, I’ll mention the eight Harry Potter books in order of date of publication. In certain countries, the books have quite different names (A noticeable example is Wales where Harry is known as Harri ), and each country typically has its own illustrator.

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (1997).
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (1998).
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (1999).
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2000).
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2003).
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2005).
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (2007).
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (2016).

Accompanying “Hogwarts library” texts:

  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.
  • Quidditch Through the Ages.
  • The Tale of Beedle the Bard.

Now that you have seen the lists of books published in chronological order, allow me to analyze them in greater detail below.

Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone (1997):

In this book, Harry Potter learns about his real identity on his 11th birthday. This is the publication that launched everything about the world of Harry Potter. Harry Potter is a sorcerer, and he is popular throughout the magical realm for defeating Lord Voldemort while he was an infant. This discovery, given by Hagrid, a garrulous, bearded ogre, sends Harry on a sensational (if sometimes terrifying) and thrilling adventure.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (1998):

Harry and his buddies smashing return to the School of witchcraft and wizardry is told in this novel. That is, the smash of a soaring Ford Anglia crashing into the Whomping Willow. You would assume that after being discovered by Muggles and barely escaping dismissal, the rest of Harry’s sophomore year would have been a breeze.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (1999):

Sirius Black, a psychotic killer who just fled from a magic dungeon in Azkaban, is introduced inside the third book of the series. As a consequence, huge numbers of Dementors appear, these demons are shadowy, soulless beings that “feed on the spirit” of their victims, they also act as Azkaban’s defenders. They invade Hogwarts to keep a keen eye on Black, who is reported to be looking for Harry. To complicate things, the usually unwavering hero, Harry seems to have a negative reaction to the Dementors. As a result, he passes out on a railroad and loses a vital Quidditch contest.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2000)

In his fourth year of study, Harry heads to Hogwarts. The Triwizard Tournament is being held at Hogwarts, and it’ll be a thrilling event. Three students from the biggest wizarding colleges will participate in this event. The contest is now only open to all students who already are 17 years old or older. Which, we believe, means Harry remains safe at least for a short while. Until, for no apparent reason, the ceremonial Goblet of Fire chooses him as the fourth Triwizard candidate.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2003)

In spite of Voldemort’s resurrection near the end of Goblet of Fire, the Ministry of Magic continues to dismiss all reports and refuses to take any practical measure. They’re concerned they’ll frighten the wider populace. This indicates that the adults should take a page from Harry’s book. Ron and Hermione take Ron’s book and try battling him. Via the Order of the Phoenix, an anonymous activist group.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2005)

During this installment, the novel dramatically encounters a plot twist. As a result, Harry discovers everything he can concerning Voldemort’s background and “origin story,” as it were. Dumbledore tells Harry these lessons in order to prepare him for a possible war against Voldemort. Assumedly in order to keep his adversaries nearer. Dumbledore is preparing something very larger, which Harry is unaware of.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (2007)

Also regarded as “Harry Potter and the Worst Camping Trip Ever.” Following the stories of the past novel, which resulted in the devastating loss of another leading character. Harry swears to kill every one of Voldemort’s Horcruxes himself. Horcruxes are items that hold fragments of Voldemort’s psyche, basically making him eternal.

This implies that if Harry needs a chance to destroy Voldemort in person. First of all, he must find and destroy the Horcruxes. The Worst Camping Trip is indeed the product of this dangerous gamble.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (2016)

This play is filled with 366 pages and it continues where Harry, Ron, Hermione, and Malfoy epilogue left off, having sent their kids to Hogwarts. This time around, our heroes are Harry’s son Albus and Malfoy’s son Scorpius. Both boys would both be in Slytherin house when they arrive at Hogwarts, and they establish an amazing bond. For another few months, this inevitably creates uncertainty between Albus and Harry.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here