How to Remove Contacts from Facebook Messenger – Are you looking for a way to remove a Messenger contact? No need to worry; here is the solution.
There is no more delete or remove button for getting rid of a Messenger contact. Many weird things stop users from using the Messenger application.
Also see: How to Fix Facebook Messenger Messages Sent But Not Delivered
Just think about it why does Facebook Messenger not let you easily delete the contact? They are just doing what they like and what they want.
Anyways, you can follow many alternative methods to remove or delete a Messenger contact.
Here you will learn how to remove Messenger contacts in your friend list, non-friends, and your phone’s contact (non-Facebook friends), that is, the auto-synced contacts.
Essential Update: The Messenger is updated, and the People icon is available at the bottom of the app. However, you can tap the contact icon and find the contact you want to remove.
The step-by-step instructions below are an alternative method because there is no such option, button, or proper method to get rid of contact on Messenger. Therefore, bear this in mind before progressing.
That’s all; the above procedures are what you can do right now to delete Messenger contacts. Blocking is the only solution to get rid of unwanted people on Facebook and Messenger.
Related: How does blocking work in Messenger?
The blocking tool removes a contact from your list. The only difference is that a removed contact can’t text you again unless you’re friends on Facebook. He/she can’t find you, request you, message you, etc.
There is an option in Messenger called “Upload contact.” When the upload contacts option is enabled, your phone’s contacts continuously sync. However, you and that contact may see the suggestion from Facebook and might send your Message requests.
You can either ignore the messages or undo the ignored messages. But to remove that contact that is not on your friend list, please follow the steps below:
That’s it; you have just removed the contact from your contacts list on Messenger. The contact will never appear as an active friend and will never send you messages or requests again.
Furthermore, there is an option to bulk remove non-facebook/non-messenger friends.
This step is optional and depends on your choice. If you are tired of unknowing message requests, then the bulk removal option is for you. The steps below would help:
You may get an error (#5900), don’t mind and ignore it. The error is because you deleted a friend that possibly blocked, ignored, and blacklisted you. Also, avoiding future automatic contacts sync/import in Messenger is important.
To stop seeing unwanted people in your hidden inbox or message requests. Also, to stop seeing strangers in the active list on Facebook Messenger, you need to block the future automatic contacts syncing on Messenger.
Read more: How do I remove contacts I imported to the Messenger app?
Please note that following the above steps will also remove all previously uploaded phone contacts.
It is easy and simple to unfriend someone on Facebook Messenger. Alternatively, you can block them, which is also unfriending.
Please note that this will permanently delete the friend or contact from Messenger. Please follow the instructions below to unfriend someone with ease:
The above steps are for those who don’t know a person’s profile on Facebook and want to unfriend the person. If you know a person’s profile on Facebook and want to unfriend the person, skip steps 1 to 5 and follow steps 6 to 8.
The process of removing someone from a group conversation in Messenger is easy. Please follow the steps below to remove someone from a group on Messenger:
As I mentioned earlier in this article, that Messenger is now updated. Therefore, you might face trouble while following the above steps. However, I updated this article with the info and procedure. Here is how to remove someone from your Messenger app:
You can delete anyone from Messenger, but the latest version makes it difficult. Facebook has deleted various options, including deleting contacts. Blocking someone now deletes them from Messenger.
Also check: How do I upload my contacts to Messenger?
All you need to do is select the person you want to remove, tap the info icon at the top right corner of the page, then tap the Block button to remove or delete the person.
If you cannot remove someone, then blocking the person is the only solution. Blocking will remove that person from your contacts list.
After you’ve deleted a contact from Messenger, you wonder if the user will be alerted. So whether or not you’ve blocked or unfriended a person on Facebook, the answer is the same.
If you’ve removed a friend on Messenger, he/she won’t be able to see your profile or send you a message once you’ve blocked him/her. As a result, he/she will be aware that you most likely block him/her.
Instead of unfriending someone on Facebook, he/she won’t be made aware of your decision. However, the “Add Friend” box will reappear when he/she visits your Facebook page, indicating that you may have unfriended him/her.
The Messenger app will not notify the user that the contact has blocked or unfriended him/her in either of these scenarios.
This is all on How to Remove Contacts from Facebook Messenger. I have explained all I know about removing, deleting, blocking contacts, etc., from the Facebook Messenger app.
Users that have a green light symbol on the bottom left side of their profile photo are on Messenger or Facebook and are recently active.
When you switch on your Active Status, your friends and contacts on this profile will see you as active, recently active, and presently in the same chat as you.
Yes. You can still communicate with them via Instagram and Facebook even if they don’t have the Messenger app.
They’ll be allowed to see your messages or calls whenever they sign into Fb on their desktop.
Keep in mind the following:
You may import your contacts into the Messenger app and afterward chat with them directly from the app.
Verify your contact number on Messenger to allow those with your phone number to send you a message.
To authenticate your phone number in your app, follow these steps:
To add your Android contact list to Facebook, follow these steps:
To add your iPhone contacts to Facebook, follow these steps:
When you add your contacts to Facebook, you can invite them to join. Please notify Facebook if anyone has received an invite from you that you did not intend to send.
If you don’t want to get any more invitation reminders for the people you’ve already invited, you may remove them from the list of contacts you’ve uploaded.
I hope you find this information helpful. Please use any of the share buttons below to share this information.
Feel free to drop any questions regarding this article in the comment section below.